A Golden Reef Tank

halmus

Registered Users
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio
I've been preparing for this project for over 3 years. So, I'll get right to it! I haven't been able to make it to a club meeting yet, but I'm a proud club member. I live out in Golden and have been planning some sort of peninsula tank since I took down my SPS tank in Washington state in preparation for our move to Co.

I just put the down payment on a tank that is being ordered through through Cris at Aquatic Art. Here is a quick sketch of the tank as it will hopefully look once done:

halmus

Registered Users
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio
I'm calling the thread "A Golden Reef Tank" for two reasons. The first is obvious: I live in Golden. The second is a much geekier reason. My background is in embedded systems (a computer with a dedicated function within a larger system) and computer software. I'm also an electronics tech with a background in RF. The only thing keeping me from being the stereotypical geek is that I hate Star Trek (sorry everyone).

The proportions for the tank's viewable area roughly match what mathematicians call the Golden Ratio.

Excerpt from the Wiki article on the Golden Ratio:

"In mathematics, two quantities are in the golden ratio if their ratio is the same as the ratio of their sum to the larger of the two quantities. The figure on the right illustrates the geometric relationship. Expressed algebraically, for quantities a and b with a > b > 0,
where the Greek letter phi (
or
) represents the golden ratio. Its value is:

"

So, the Golden Ratio is seen by some as the ideal proportion to base dimensions on. Why not try to build a tank that matches that?