Complete NOOB...ready for the madness (I think?!?)

ShelbyJK500

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
Shamefully I've already been trolling around without a proper intro! Anyhow, I've been into freshwater and reptiles most of my life (couple of decades). I purchased my first home about 5 years ago now and it just hit me, "I don't have a single aquarium in my life?!?" That didn't make sense and the no-brainer was to get into saltwater like I had ALWAYS wanted to, but never had the time/funds/stable residence. So...here I am...with TONS of questions and that stupid/confused newbie look on my face!! :D

Just browsing around I can tell this community is awesome! I'm only hoping I can get involved and educated so I can give back. Oh, and it definitely helps that my better half is just as excited about the reefing hobby as me!! (Maybe more so) :D

I just got my 110g acrylic last week. It needs some hooking up (lights/ballasts wiring, sump (still need one), etc) if I can snap that stupid deer-in-headlights look off my face and try to figure it all out. I at least got a few start up questions answered at Elite Reef today. Love that place!

Well, in expectation of the "pics brah"...here it is.

ShelbyJK500

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
Oh...and the FIRST deer-in-headlight question is....*drumroll*....should I be placing it here? I've asked several people outside the forum about putting it next to these windows and they thought it would be fine. I was concerned about the cold off the windows during winter and algae growth (unwanted) due to sunlight. I should note, there isn't direct sunlight. It is north facing/exposure so these windows never get "direct" sunlight. I will also be replacing the blinds with dark wood slat blinds that will block even more sunlight. As always ANY and ALL feedback is welcomed. :D

dvenson

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member