flame angel

Ikan60

Turbo Snail
M.A.S.C Club Member
I have a flame angel I got about 3 weeks ago. In the last week, I noticed a single white spot on his front fin (pelvic fin?). It is just one spot - no others have developed. I have been feeding with garlic. I haven't noticed any change in the spot since I first saw it 5 days ago. None of the other fish have any white spots and all are healthy and happy. I certainly don't want to come down with ich. Does this sound like ich?

ThatsDeep!

Clown Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
I am a newb, so take this with a grain of salt, but when we had tropical tanks many years ago, ich would show spread within 5 days - it sounds like something else, and I will keep my fingers crossed [more benign]. People with more experience will be on here in a hollow heartbeat to give you their thoughts.

sethsolomon

Hammerhead Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
I would put some garlic soaked nori on a suction clip so he has something to graze on during the day. that should help. Its possible its ick but wouldn't be able to tell without pics.

jbanman14

Cleaner Shrimp
Have a flame that had the same issue, ended up getting a ton of them on his body. Fed him a bunch and kept him happy (no stress) and they eventually went away. Cleaner shrimp will also help, fish will swim right up to it. tried the quarantine with other fish and the stress of that did them in, I've had better luck leaving them be/feeding well and letting their immune system take care of it.

ReefCheif

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Platinum Sponsor
if it appears to look like a small cotton ball my guess would Brooklynella (sp?) maybe? Or some other type of fungal infection?

I can tell you this, I never saw this on my angels, but my trigger use to get a random whitespot here and there on her fins, I was finally able to figure out is her and her wild swimming through the tank scraping her fins. It always went away and never amounted to anything more than a white spot.

Aaron

Cyano