• Sony SLT-A55

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

djkms

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
A few months back I posted a thread about which gadget to get. Well I have decided to pick up a DSLR camera and will be getting it this weekend. I have been planning on getting a Nikon D5100 but upon further review there are 2 other really good contenders so now I am stuck.

Of course I want something that is going to take amazing photos but I also want my camera to take great videos as well. I know I know, if I want great videos get a camcorder but for now I want the best (as possible) of both worlds wrapped into a DSLR body.

I am a amateur, hell, call me a noob when it comes to photography but I am really good with electronics and pick up on them fast. I am also familiar with post processing and and good with lightroom, photoshop, premier and after effects.

So here are my 3 choices and what I have gathered their strengths and weaknesses to each other. I will mainly touch base on the video differences since I somewhat know about video and nothing about still captures.

Nikon D5100 - In Depth Review
Pros: Continuous auto-focus during movie recording
Cons: Horrible menu navigation

Canon Rebel T3i - In Depth Review
Pros: Records 60fps in 720 (great for post processing so I can do slow motion video without glitching!)
Cons: No auto focus during recording (will this be huge while recording my aquarium?)

Sony SLT-A55 - In Depth Review
Pros: Continuous shooting at 10fps (will I really use this shooting aquariums?)
Supposedly the best of the 3 for video recording
Cons: Swivel for the screen is at the bottom instead of the side (I have a feeling this will bug the crap out of me)

So anymore insight from you guys would be greatly appreciated. Please cast your vote and tell me why you voted on that particular camera. Please also give me some pro's and cons with each camera so I can edit this post with more info!