Hi from Wyoming.

Hello all,

I just found this site through RC. I was really hoping for a SW club somewhere in Wyoming but apparently the hobby doesn't have much of a following up here.

I do not have a tank set up yet, I got a pretty good deal on a 140 gal tank here in town, dude had an alligator in it, but I think maybe I bit off more than I could chew. It's 6ft long and really doesn't fit in my house well at all. And I think maybe that size tank may be beyond my budget to set up and operate. So before I set anything up I will be getting rid of it in favor of a 75 to 90 gal.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to aquariums. I've always wanted a reef tank but with my career (trucker) I never had the time to care for one. Now I'm out of the trucking business, and with more time to spare I wanna give it a go.

So far I've collected the big tank, a 29 and a 20 long. Thats it. Hopefully in the next year or so I'll get all the other important things and continue learning what I need to know to make this first tank a success. Be prepared for stupid questions, and a lot of them!!

Zooid

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Welcome aboard.
Keep the bigger tank. Most new reefers start small and increase the size of the tank
in less than six months. Bigger tanks are more stable anyway hehe.

Thanks for the welcomes

I dunno about keeping the big tank. Its awfully big and I'm having trouble locating it where I can get to sumps, pumps, skimmers etc. Also as I said, the cost may be prohibitive.

Cake_Boss

Blue Whale
M.A.S.C Club Member
Welcome, I agree with keeping the bigger tank. I already want to go 200+. Take your time gathering supplies, keep an eye out for used pumps and supplies. Patience and research are key. What are you looking for, better yet what do you have? What are you looking at keeping? FO, FOWLR, Reef(mixed, SPS dominant, LPS dominant, softie dominant)? Just stuff to think about.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

rockys_pride;88598 said: