new to mixing saltwater help needed

scotty b

Butterfly Fish
I am new to mixing my own saltwater , what salt would be recommended ?
what filter micron sized do I need in a rodi unit ?

any help in this matter would be appreciated

I have a 3 stage rodi by spectra-pure
and 2 55 gallon mixing drums

have a 35 gallon red sea max with soft corals and macro algae

jda123

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
Whatever comes with the spectrapure is fine. You want the TDS near zero.

1). Dry mix your salt unless you are using a full bag - all of it settles and some worse than others
2). Add salt to cold water - measure and write it down
3). Mix with powerhead
4). Heat the water

Take notes so that you know how much to add next time.

sethsolomon

Hammerhead Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
For Filters, I recommend a 5 micron sediment filter and a 1 micron carbon block , ro membrane, and a DI resin canister.

Alternate option: Do a purtex sediment filter, 5 micron carbon block, 1 micron carbon block, ro membrane, and then pick up a DI chamber and convert your 3 stage to a 4 stage. http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/121217771426?lpid=82

Salt recommendations:

IO Reef Crystals
Fritz Reef Pro (This is what I use)
Tropic Marin
Seachem Salinity (If you don't mind constantly shaking and rolling the bucket)

zombie

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
sethsolomon;334280 said:
Alternate option: Do a purtex sediment filter, 5 micron carbon block, 1 micron carbon block, ro membrane, and then pick up a DI chamber and convert your 3 stage to a 4 stage. http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/121217771426?lpid=82
That would be a 5 stage. The ro membrane counts as a stage.

Since you have a choice for 2 filters, I would still follow his advice (using a 5 micron sediment filter. Get lots of these, they only last about a month on my 125), but leave out the 5 micron carbon block. A DI canister os a relatively cheap add on that makes a world of difference.

TheRealChrisBrown

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio