Planted tank?

matt.radich

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
So in my wave of trying new things this summer, I am thinking about doing a planted tank. I have been doing freshwater for years, and this year took the plunge to a reef, but i still want a freshwater tank. I have never done a planted tank before, so that's what's I'm going to do. What I am thinking is a 10 gallon tank, with a 2 bulb t5 setup. But I don't know what sort of substrate to use. Anyone have experience in these tanks and have tips?

tlsrcs

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
I love the look of planted tanks a lot. I l.ow nothing Abouy them though lol. I do have 6500k 150w metal halide that could go into the odyessa fixture just needs a ballast. Also if you want to I have a 15g and stand one of the iron ones.

jahmic

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Substrate and lighting will both depend upon what types of plants you intend to grow, and the type of system you want to run. I've ran both "high tech" systems that require higher lighting, daily dosing of nutrients, and CO2 injection...and "low tech" systems with about 2wpg of lighting and none of the hassle of daily dosing. Certain plants will only thrive in a high tech system...others are better suited for low tech systems. As a general rule of thumb, root feeding plants are a better option for low tech systems as they grow slower and thus have lower nutrient demands. You can use a nutrient rich substrate or even amend the substrate with top soil underneath to support growth.