Plugging drilled holes?

Kindafishy

Cleaner Shrimp
Hiya all,

I've been running an incredibly scratched 75 for many years. It's likely the main frustration I have with this hobby, as I could never afford a nicer tank.

So, I've been offered a 110 Gallon tall. It's the same length and width as my 75, but nearly 10 inches taller. With a stand and canopy for $350. (Great price!)

Issue is it has three holes in the bottom. If you were to spit the tank into sides, there's a hole in the center of each side. plus a third hole between the right side hole and the right rear corner.

I've thought a lot about this. I could just run a 90 deg, then PVC to the corners. With a deep sand bed. (fish always exposing the PVC). OR maybe I can plug these holes??? I know for a fact I DO NOT want two pipes sticking out of the sand in the center of my tank!

I'd far prefer to plug these holes. Then drill in a low sound overflow into the back wall. I'm just not sure plugging these holes will be as easy as I think.

Any help would be great, and Thanks!

Cherub

Hey you
M.A.S.C Club Member
Sounds like more of a hassle then it's worth, hold out for something you don't have to invest that much effort into. There are deals on here all the time...

Kindafishy

Cleaner Shrimp
It's Glass!

I doubt I'll find a furniture grade stand canopy and tank for $350 anytime soon. Drilling a hole, or holes into the back is easy enough as well.

Hadn't thought of the highly siliconed glass puck. That could work! The bulkhead thing seems iffy to me. I've seen a few videos telling me NOT to thread extra stuff onto bulkheads (One of the BRS videos). So capping those would be doing just that! This makes me worry that the bulkheads may not be strong enough to handle the nearly 900 LBS it would have to take. I could be wrong though.

Zooid

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
I'm confused.
Plugging a bulkhead would not be threading extra stuff onto the bulkhead, it would be replacing