Problems with Cal, Alk and Mag levels

Problems with Cal, Mag, Alk levels
[HR][/HR]I have a 180g bow front tank. It is mixed reef with a fairly heavy bio load. I have been dosing Cal and Alk from a 2-part solution for about two months and dosing Mag on its own. My Cal level will not get over 360, Alk over 6 and Mag over 1170. I started out dosing 35ml and am now dosing 45ml of Cal and Alk daily, and 30ml of Mag daily trying to get Cal and Alk to raise.
I do not believe in chasing numbers, but these levels seem low to me and I would like to see them higher even if I don't get to the 'magic' numbers.
I understand the relationship between Cal, Alk and Mag somewhat, but I am perplexed as to why I keep raising the doses and nothing happens.
Is there some other factor I am not aware of or am missing?
Should I just keep dosing more until the levels rise and then cut back to exactly what the tank is consuming daily??

The tank has been running for almost two years, I bought it about 2 months ago and started dosing.

Thanks All,

SAZAMA

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
your mag is low, natural sea water is around 1280. keep in mind that the main function of mag. is to help keep alk and cal from dissipating.

Last edited by a moderator:

Andrew_bram

Tiger Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
According to randy 85g of sea water has nearly a pound of mg. It tanks a lot of mg to raise your levels. I would raise 100 per day till over 1300. It will seem like a lot of mg but that's what the calculators are for.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk