Pump specs?

dweeb

Amphipod
M.A.S.C Club Member
Moved into a new house and finally got my salt mixing station (with RODI system) set up downstairs. That means no more wheeling a huge trashcan into the living room for water changes.

But there's a problem: I am only running 1/4 line. I have an ATO line, as well as the line to pump mixed, fresh saltwater into the tank.

The pump has to push saltwater through that 1/4" line, around 50-60 feet. It has to lift the water about 8-9 feet.

Had a friend give me a pump that pushes 550gpm, with head pressure of 12 feet. But it hammers the line...it works, but it feels like it's trying to push too much water too fast through a little line.

Anyone here a hydraulics engineer? :) I know nothing about this.

Ask me how to pass a bill through the legislature and I can detail it for you, off the top of my head. But this has me baffled.

zombie

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
I'm not a hydraulics engineer, but I know enough about fluid dynamics to be dangerous.

The 1/4" line may work okay for ATO, but not for filling saltwater (unless you want to spend 3 hours filling 10 gallons) but if at all possible I would use 3/8" for that and upgrade to the Neptune PMUP or similar rated pump (low flow high head) or use a peristaltic like the BRS 50ml/min which can use the 1/4" on that line without trouble. For the saltwater you are going to need a 3/4" line unless you want to spend $500 on a pump. Even then the pump you have won't work as even 50 gal/hour will reach the 12' head capacity of that pump and that will take foreeeeever. You want something in the mag 12 class of ratings to fill 5 gallons a minute or mag 24 to reach 10 gallons a minute.

You might be an engineer if...You have no life and can prove it mathematically.

zombie

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member