Dosing and calcium questions.

kchristensen8064

Sting ray
M.A.S.C Club Member
So my 180gal reef is nearing a year old and through testing, I use up quite a bit of Alk and Mag. I have just started dosing to try to get these levels to where the are steady. So my question is, while I don't have to dose a ton of Alk (soda ash) to maintain that level, I dose a ton of Mag to try to hold that one steady. Why is this? Also, my calcium level never drops and is now up to 560ppm. I have the ability to dose this but obviously have never needed to because it is so high. What would be the cause for this, and what would be the best solution to getting all of this balanced out.

JuanGutz

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Let’s start with I’m no pro and there are people on this forum who will help out a lot me but what test kits are you using?

kchristensen8064

Sting ray
M.A.S.C Club Member
I always had issues with my Hannah Calc checker, it was never consistent. I even bought they’re Hannah water and some nice pipettors with no consistency at all.
I have 2 different hanna calcium checkers, the old egg shaped one, and I just bought the new one that checks a bunch of different parameters. They both read the same thing, and have been consistent. I've never had and stray readings.

Terry Fox

Cleaner Shrimp
Kchristensen8064,
I am about to pull the trigger on the Hanna Master checker and was wondering if you would recommend it.

kchristensen8064

Sting ray
M.A.S.C Club Member
Kchristensen8064,
I am about to pull the trigger on the Hanna Master checker and was wondering if you would recommend it.
I am loving it so far! I've had it for about 2 weeks now and it's been great having everything in one package. I also love that it stores all the results.

ReefCheif

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Platinum Sponsor
What kind if magnesium are you dosing and whats your salinity at?