Small Engine Mechanic

jda123

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
I can trade cash, high-end SPS or Zoas and I even have a bunch of nice used tanks and equipment.

I have an old Kaw fb460v that will not spark. I replaced the ignitor and coil and it will not spark or even fire on starting fluid. The flywheel magnet appears strong. I am out of my realm here and need some help. The mower is big and I cannot really move it too well. I am in Longmont.

More details:
Compression is good
Carb is rebuilt, but it won't even fire on starting fluid

I am a pretty good mechanic, but I am lost on this one. If you are a pro and need a job, then please send me a PM.

JuanGutz

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Checked your spark plug wires? Check the tolerance between the igniter and flywheel may be to big if a gap?

yOdaddy

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
A dumb question, but have you replace the spark plugs? Sometime carbon builds up so much it won't spark. Most of the time if you tried everything, usually its the ignition coil thats bad. You might need a dvom for this. If you're not getting any spark period, I would check if there's any short to ground anywhere especially the ignition switch giving that all compression/gas/air is good

Re: Small Engine Mechanic

+ 1 yodaddy check ground, spark plug gap on plug make sure plug wires are good, gap at fly wheel let us know hope it helps

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

jda123

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
The plug wire came on the new coil, so it is new too. The spark plug will spark on a tester. The magnet gap is OK according to the manual. This one is killing me.

jahmic

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Duh...can't read. You already replaced the ignitor, lol

Check the terminal where the coil grounds to to the engine/mower. It may just be rusted and in need of a little cleaning to complete the circuit and get the engine to fire.

jda123

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member