The Swanson's Solana

After being out for a couple years because of selling a house, living in the in-laws basement, having a baby, and moving into our new house, it's finally time to set up another tank. Although not as large as our last set up we are excited to finally have a reef again. It's a 34 gallon standard Solana All in one system with the disco light 150 Watt metal halide. I ditched the stand that came with it and built my own and shall we say my woodworking skills are, well, let's just hope I'm a better reefer than I am a woodworker. The overflow will have a tunze 9002 skimmer that I modified and I plan on some Chaeto in the second chamber with a small led light. I'm going to try the Jaebo wave maker ( yes I've read the mixed reviews) simply because of the price. I'm setting up an ATO with double float switch and a 5 gallon bucket in the cabinet. For now, being a new system, I'm going to be dosing limewater only until the system requires more supplements. Thanks for taking a look! Pics to come.

Thanks Craig, already see my first problem from my terrible woodworking skills. Tank is level but not sitting completely flat . A couple corners are off just a bit. What is that pad or soft board people put under tanks to help even it out I'm going to need one apparently .

Anybody see a problem with doing this? I also bought a one inch thick pink styroboard if you guys think this is a bad idea. Its nice and level now and feels solid. Thanks for any help! Im never building a stand again.

Just made a homemade limewater doser. Drip rate is adjustable and can drip very slow. I can make these occasionally as supplies become available where I work, let me know if you're interested.

Have a new 165w full spectrum LED on the way as well. With the skimmer, return pump and wp10 going this is almost dead silent I love it. Inordered a 10w undereater bulb for the second chamber refugium chaeto setup. Should be able to do fish real soon! Then the fun stuff.