Freshwater Cycle problems

Fourthwind

Anthias
M.A.S.C Club Member
Ok so I am maybe being impatient, but this is driving me nuts. I have been running tanks for 30 years, and I have never had a tank do this. I installed a 75 gallon seaclear II AIO modified for freshwater in my sons room. Used matrix media set up with positive water pass through instead of the wet dry as it was designed for. I also have run a flexible 12 inch air diffuser under the matrix. Did this to make sure there was an adequate gas exchange and kept detritus moving. Filled it with RODI, and mineralized the water with Kent RO right till I had a TDS of 100. PH of 7.6, an a KH of 80. These parameters have been stable the last 6 weeks. In the beginning I seeded the tank from a healthy tank, and added seachem stability. Then threw in a bag of frozen krill. Left on vacation for three weeks. Came home to 2.0 ammonia, and no nitrites or nitrates. Took out the krill. week later still had 2.0 ammonia and no nitrites or nitrates. So at week 4 with no changes, I did a 35% water change, treated with prime, added more bacteria seed, more stability, a couple live plants, and a few barbs to see if live fish poop would help. Now we are sitting at week 6. Still holding 1 to 2 ammonia (verified by two different test kits) No nitrites, no nitrates, ph 7.6, temp 79 degrees. The barbs are active, eating and not showing duress. Why is this tank seeming to be stalled and not cycling? Decorations in the tank are a thin layer of natural gravel, plastic plants, live plants, two plastic decorations and large piece of drift wood. live plants added after pic was taken.

Fourthwind

Anthias
M.A.S.C Club Member