Lonely in NOCO, New to Salt

Fitz19d

Bat Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
Heya,

By lonely I just mean seems like there is a lot less marine action compared to Denver/Springs btw. Please no propositions ;p.

I'm new to saltwater and originally got into it because of my interest in stomatopods, aka mantis shrimp. Though since then having stepped into Great White and D&G became interested in corals as well and also find myself with a long list of inverts I'd also like to keep at some point. (Pom Pom, sexy shrimp, harlequin, asst crabs etc.) Unfortunately they don't mix well with the mantis.

I've already gotten started with some missteps. Had a 45g up a week which broke the center brace, had to rush and replace it with a petco 55 as it was best option to accommodate the lighting I already have. Still kinda wish I'd gotten a 40g breeder but I didn't have tools/time or skill to rig up a stand for the light so it wasn't cooking things.

I currently have Dave at Aquamart trying to find me a G. Graphurus mantis, and if anyone knows anyone else who might be good at finding specific species I'd love that info. Just about everyone has peacocks but since I am keeping some corals would be not as ideal since the lights can cause issues with them. Also working on figuring out if there is a local place or online better for trying to get just cheap snails/crabs for mantis munchies. Intention is to feed heavily with frozen shrimp and stuff but realize all my janitors are edible.