Coral Banded Shrimp Babies

LittleCrabby101

Clown Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
I bought a banded coral shrimp a couple weeks ago. She was pregnant at the time, but I didn't think anything of it. A few days ago I noticed the eggs were gone off her and then a day later she molted! Today as I was watching my tank I noticed little itty bitty clear looking "bugs" swimming under a rock. Is it possible that these babies hatched? If so, will they survive in the tank long enough to grow and be removed?​

If you have fish I was told they wont make it long (any babies). If its a coral only tank with nothing that will eat them I imagine they could grow up. I have 2 peppermint shrimp and I have noticed one of them really swollen twice with white bumps in the belly, it has gone away but months later I haven't found any new shrimp. I'm no expert thou!

LittleCrabby101

Clown Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
Where she laid the eggs is a perfect spot because the fish don't go under it. I thought for sure the fish would eat the eggs and they didn't. There were a few swimming around yesterday and the fish didn't even seem to notice. I think they may make it.

09bumblebee

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
LittleCrabby101 said:
Where she laid the eggs is a perfect spot because the fish don't go under it. I thought for sure the fish would eat the eggs and they didn't. There were a few swimming around yesterday and the fish didn't even seem to notice. I think they may make it.
Awesome well hopefully they live. When you feed, feed the fish in an opposite spot and than squirt a tiny amount of food near them.

LittleCrabby101

Clown Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
09bumblebee;187010 said:
Awesome well hopefully they live. When you feed, feed the fish in an opposite spot and than squirt a tiny amount of food near them.
I hope they live it's kinda cool. I counted at least 10 active ones so maybe a few will make it and get bigger ;) They are definately coming out when feeding time happens.

Ghosty

Butterfly Fish