Freshwater hobbyist thinking of starting a Marine nano tank

Hey all,

I've been doing fresh water for a couple years and typically stay with Tanks under 20/ Nano tanks. Was thinking of doing an 11.4 Gallon Mr Aqua tank and thought it would be a good idea to join this group and hopefully start learning so I can do it right. I know most people dont view Aquatic pets the same as cats and dogs and just brush it off when one dies due to ignorance and lack of proper care, but I think being cruel to my aquatic pets is equal to cruelty to cats and dogs..... So I would definitely appreciate any and all information I can get to help me care for my Marine tank pets the right way.

considering I already have the 11.4 gallon Mr Aqua tank, I am trying to compile a list of things I will be needing. Are their any stickies that provide this info? I looked in the noobie section and didnt really see anything.

Thank you

Matt

zombie

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
You are gonna need some aragonite sand, live rock (purchase last), circulation pumps (korilia nano is your cheapest decent option), good salt, rodi water, and lots of patience. Unlike freshwater tanks, it can easily take 1-2 months for a tank to cycle before it is ready for the first fish. Go slow, and do lots of research.

SynDen

Administrator
Staff member
M.A.S.C Club Member
M.A.S.C. B.O.D.
M.A.S.C President
M.A.S.C Webmaster
Here is a similar thread where we have been discussing this very option, although the OP is considering a larger tank, but the principle are pretty much the same. http://www.marinecolorado.org/forum...y-had-freshwater-what-do-I-do-different/page2