HELP NEEDED: identifying dead anemone

Aaron

Cyano
M.A.S.C Club Member
I just got a new anemone in today. When FedEx delivered it, the water was a frigid 40F :mad3: and the mouth is wide open.

The anemone still is still moving and it's foot is attached to the bag. Its condition seems to be improving slightly after a few hours (starting to inflate more), but it's mouth is still wide open.

This is my first time buying one on-line (I have two others which are thriving from my LFS). Does anyone have any experience with an anemone making it? Should I just cut my losses? I'm worried that if I introduce it to my 16Gallon Nano, it's going to cause lots of problems in this condition.

Any advice would be helpful.

View attachment 12089

Haulin Oates

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
HELP NEEDED: identifying dead anemone

I bought a pink tip this time 2 years ago. Exact same story. I hate Fed ex. They had it 3 days. Water temp was about 45 when it got to me. It survived and lived over a year until my great garage sump disaster this summer. Give it some time, but have a large waterchange ready to go!

WatercolorsGuy

Nurse Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Re: HELP NEEDED: identifying dead anemone

I wouldnt give up on it just yet. Do a slow drip acclimation and if possible when ready to go in the tank place it in a basket or net breeder.
Also make sure you photograph it now and document the conditions so you can file a doa report with the vendor should it die.

Badgervet

Angel Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
Plus 1 on what everyone above have told you, also recommended putting it in an area of low lighting to decrease the stress on it with gentle flow. I've had an anemone die and it makes a mess (it was in a 12 gallon cube) so if you can isolate it a little, it would help. Also depends on what else you have in the tank. Some critters are more sensitive to any die offs.

Aaron

Cyano
M.A.S.C Club Member