Help!!!!!

sberg39

Copepod
M.A.S.C Club Member
I am fairly new to reef tanks I have about a 1 1/2 yrs of experience.
I have a 180 gallon RSM tank that has been up and running for 8 months. Corals have never thrived in this tank. The corals always shrivel up and start to die. I had this problem when I had t5's over it so swaped them out for Radions. I still have the same issue with the radions above it. The parameters are very close to the tank the corals came out of. I can take them and place them back in the orginal tank and they recover and start to thrive again. I have 1 lettuce coral, brown candy cane and a green candy cane that are holding its own. I put some xenia in this tank the other day and they have shriveled up to nothing in 2 days.

Water Parameters as of today.

Temp 78.6
NH4 0
NO3 0
NO2 0
PO4 0
Salinity 1.026
PH 8.2
ALK 2.74 meq/L or 7.672 dkh
CA 425
MG 1485

Thanks for the help in advance!

Steve

fishguy69

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
How much are you driving the radions? Maximum or Mins? Percentages?

DyM

Sting ray
M.A.S.C Club Member
Is the rock base rock, or live rock? Do you have coraline algae? Any nuance algae? What fish do you have in there?

zombie

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
How much flow do you have in the tank?

Shaunv

Sting ray
M.A.S.C Club Member
How old are the test kits and what type? Are you using a refractometer? Is it calibrated?

sberg39

Copepod
M.A.S.C Club Member
I have the radions on coral acclimation with a max is 35% they are currently set to 50% of 35%.
It is mostly base rock with a small amount of live rock. I cycled the base rock for 3 months checking water parameters twice a week and changing 20% of the water every other day during the process.