Kalk in ATO?

daverf

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
Does anyone do this? I see pros and cons. I'm a newbie to this.

If so, what is your method? And what do you use? Pickling lime etc.

Haulin Oates

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Kalk in ATO?

I've tried twice. I couldn't ever get the ratio right and it would throw off my params. And I had to clean out my pump every time I'd fill it up (every 3 days). I just dose 2 part.

Craigar

Tiger Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Kalk in ATO?

I do kalk on my ato my brs 50 mill doser pushes through my kalk stirrer and my params stay pretty good

ColoradoReef

Platinum Sponsors
Platinum Sponsor
Kalk in ATO?

I use kalk and have a ato and a Two Little Fishies KW reactor. I set it up a couple months ago, so far i am happy with it.

C.J.
Elite Reef

daverf

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
Thanks for all the feedback everyone, Please keep it coming. Lots more research I need to do... As I see from above.hanks for all the feedback everyone, Please keep it coming. Lots more research I need to do... As I see from above.

Question for those that have tried just straight kalk in the ATO reservoir. Do you think if I premixed with water, let the precipitate settle, pour the water into my ato, and add ran a full time powerhead in the ato reservoir, that I would still have an issue?

Walter White

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
I used to run kalk in my elos osmolater ATO. I did this for about 9 months then eventually switched over to two part dosed in 8 45 second periods.
The only reason I switched is when my demands got high enough I did not feel comfortable upping the kalk to the full concentration and dosing with just one or two top offs a day so I switched to two part, much more controlled and spread out which has been nice as its really helped to stabilize my pH.

One I get my big tank up (someday) Ill probably go back to running kalk in my ATO along with a calcium reactor to help offset the pH drop from the Co2.

DyM

Sting ray
M.A.S.C Club Member