Micro bubbles and loud drain

KhensuRa

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
So what gives? This is my first try with a non all in one and I am having sump issues. I am getting a ton of noise from the durso and a ton of micro bubbles. I thought I had done enough research but I have no clue how to fix the issue. Any help please, or if anyone in is in my hood (lakewood) and wants to come take a look at what I jacked up that would rock.

Cake_Boss

Blue Whale
M.A.S.C Club Member
What fixed my noise was reducing the amount of flow to my tank from my return.
Lyle has a unique idea too, hopefully he'll chime in to clarify. He put adjustable air valves in the pipe. That way you can dial in the right amount of air/water combo.

Edit, I initially read through a bunch of RC threads on the topic. All seemed to say to drill a bigger hole, which made the problem worse. Reducing flow is what helped me. Mine gets diverted to my sump and soon a reactor as well.

KhensuRa

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
I drilled a hole in the cap and put a air line with a valve on it, but it still was not enough air flow so I ended up having to drill another smaller hole just so it would sound like the loudest toilet ever.

Metalsniper

Anthias
M.A.S.C Club Member
Are you running a single durso standpipe? Problems with durso are caused by too much or too little air so I'm not sure which might be the problem. If you have any of the little air valves that come with skimmers and powerheads you could try attaching it to your airline to adjust the amount of air flowing in. In this way you may be able to both position where the air is going and how much of it, assuming it's too much. If it is too little, only a bigger hole will help I think. I'm not too far away so depending on if you get it fixed or not I may be able to help.

Bajamike

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
what size is the durso? I had horrible noise with 1" pipe I went to 1 1/4 and reduced it just before the bulkhead all gone

fiji4118

Tang