Ok I'm lost... CA and ALK

clowninaround7474

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
So my plan for the 60g cube is to be SPS dominant with zoa's and a few LPS here and there. In the past, I had more of an LPS dominant tank with some SPS (a few monti's and acros) but nothing crazy. I always had luck using Tropic Marin Bio-Calcium. Calcium and alk always seemed to stay in check. I've considered using this again but can't remember if the really includes anything to boost alk as well.

With some recent acro frags added to the tank, I wanted to really better my understanding of dosing and get some recommendations. I'm confident that my 5g water changes every 3-4 days won't keep up for long.

The monti's in the tank are really coloring up nice and already seeing growth so I'm happy with that, however, I know they're a whole lot different then acros.

I don't have room for a reactor and am nervous about dosing 2 Part as I've never done it before... And again have limited space in my stand.

Soooo..... What do I do? Again, I really liked the Bio-Calcium but is that the best option?

Any help/advice is very much appreciated.

Thanks!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sethsolomon

Hammerhead Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Best option is a calcium reactor but it might be tough to get one of those to fit in the bottom of a 60g cube stand. And they are expensive.

clowninaround7474

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
I watched this last night and it seemed to help clear things up. I am not sure if daily manual dosing will be what I'm looking to do so I guess I'll be looking into dosing pumps.

Any feedback on the Bubble Magus BM-T01 unit? Worth the cost? Any other automated units worth looking into?

sethsolomon

Hammerhead Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
clowninaround7474;290493 said:
I watched this last night and it seemed to help clear things up. I am not sure if daily manual dosing will be what I'm looking to do so I guess I'll be looking into dosing pumps.