Tank Parameters Help

So I'm kinda new to this salt water tank thing. In June I bought a used 55g corner tank that came with the live sand. I set it up and got some rock and let it cycle. I added some snails and since have added 2 clowns, a yellow eyed kole tang, a lemon peel angel and a green BTA. Everything was doing great until a few weeks back when the BTA started to look terrible. It ended up dying as did the tang. I believe the tang probably died because of toxins release from the BTA and I think the BTA died either from the addition of the angel or high nitrate/alkalinity levels.

I would like to add a new anemone and maybe some corals, but I know my parameters aren't perfect. I currently have a couple polyps and some mushroom corals.

My Tank parameters are:

Nitrate - 0
Phosphate - 1-2ppm
Calcium - 360
Carbonate Hardness - 20
pH - 8.2
Salinity - 1.025
Temp - 72
Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0

What changes would you suggest to get my parameters to where they need to be add corals and a new anemone for my clowns?

Cake_Boss

Blue Whale
M.A.S.C Club Member
Do you have any stony corals in there? If you do, I'd let the alk go down by itself. Otherwise, I'd do the w/c.

How did you get an alk of that high? Do you dose? What's your mag at? What salt do you use? RO?

I think your ca/alk/mg is out of balance.

Thanks for the help all!

I rechecked the Carbonate Hardness and it came out as 9 this time. I checked it twice to make sure. I'm not sure what went wrong in the test the first time. I also turned the heater up to try to raise the temp a little higher.

Normally when I test the nitrate I find levels close to 20ppm. It was a surprise to me to find it at 0 today, so I had to check it again. Is there any issue with my phosphate? Do I need to purchase chemicals to get teh calcium to come up?

daverf

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
I don't reef (just fowlr) so I don't know what's best for calcium but can respond on phosphates and nitrates.