Urgent help needed

I need help/advice on what to do. While I was away from home, my timer that controls my dosing pumps defaulted to on. This led to a ridiculous amount of 2 part being dosed. I just measured and my ALK is around 15!!!!!! What do I do? I don't understand how it happened but I need to know what to do. Should I be rushing down to aquamart to get some saltwater to do a massive water change or just let it come down on its own and not dose for awhile? The water is super cloudy. Please help me!

CRW Reef

Blue Whale
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio
Re: Urgent help needed

I would start with at least a 25% if not a 50% water change for sure.

Well, I'm a SW noob too, so take this advice for what its worth. But I would definitely do a H20 change. How big is an unknown to me. Maybe 1/5 or 1/10 the tank volume, or maybe more. A H20 change should help get things back to normal quickly. Unless you have something in your tank that uses the ALK quickly, I would go the water change route.

JuanGutz

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
15 isn't that bad is it? It'll probably **** things off but should be hard to get ahold of and not have to bad of an effect on the tank? More asking a question haha is 15 really bad, I have a nano that is consistently at 12 but hasn't bothered anything not even a nem....

ailachami

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
Urgent help needed

JuanGutz;231655 said:
15 isn't that bad is it? It'll probably **** things off but should be hard to get ahold of and not have to bad of an effect on the tank? More asking a question haha is 15 really bad, I have a nano that is consistently at 12 but hasn't bothered anything not even a nem....
depend on what it was before. if it was 8-9 and jumped to 15+. that's almost twice

ReefCheif

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Platinum Sponsor
50% water change ASAP, follwed up by a 25 - 30% water change in a day or 2

Last edited by a moderator:

Cake_Boss

Blue Whale
M.A.S.C Club Member