Dragon Wrasse Advice

Hello,

I'm new to the hobby but my husband has been doing this most of his life. However, we're both stumped as to what's going on with my dragon wrasse.

I've had him for almost a year. He's moved from a 75 gal to a 125 gal to our new 300 gal. He's never had issues before. We have some fairly sensitive fish in the tank with him and no one else seems to be experiencing anything negative.

For about a week now he's been periodically breathing incredibly hard and laying on his back under some rock. I expected him to die when we first noticed this but he's still kicking. He's eating and swimming and his breathing slows down again. Obviously something is wrong but we don't know what it is.

There's no sign on ick on him and while the nitrates test slightly high, they aren't alarming. We have 4 water movers so we've ruled out low oxygen.

The googles are strong with me but I've only found similar symptoms with new dragon wrasses. We haven't added a new fish in quite a while however we did add 40lbs of base rock about a week ago.

If anyone has any advice, I'd really appreciate it.

Thank you

SteveT

Butterfly Fish
How recent was the move to the 300Gal? Every time you move a fish there is stress involved and wrasses act pretty weird when they are stressed. New rock work also can change territories and cause aggression related stress. I bet he will snap out of it once territories are settled out if this is the case. If the labored breathing is very regular and doesn't go away it could still be Ich, even if its not visible on the outside of the fish. The most common place for ich to infect is inside the gills

Thanks Steve, the move was in May.

The territories make a lot of sense actually. Most of the fish seem significantly happier with the new rock and caves we've created but it did add a lot of new structure within the tank.