Hello

Hello everyone,

I’m new to MASC, new to posting threads on forums, and most importantly new to reef aquariums! You could say I’m the newbiest of newbs. I’m reaching out for my first post to ask about the plumbing on my first ever tank. I have a 75Gallon tank and unfortunately it’s not drilled for plumbing so I’m using an external overflow box. I’ve dry fit together my attempt at the plumbing of both the drain line and the return line and wanted feedback on if it looks OK and what I could do to improve it before I seal the pipes together. Anything helps and Thank you in advance!

NickP

Clown Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
Platinum Sponsor
Hi and welcome. Highly recommend higher quality ball values and a gate valve instead of a ball valve on the drain. Also a back up drain line.

Dr.DiSilicate

Great White Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio
Your plumbing looks fine. It’ll work. I do agree that a drilled tank with a backup drain is much safer in the long term. If you keep the overflow you have make sure you check that it’s not getting clogged regularly.

I’d be all for drilling, which is actually pretty easy, if you plan on keeping the tank long term. It’d be a bit safer and you could push it closer to the wall as well as being quieter. If you are like most of us that tank is going to be upgraded within a year (as long as you are patient along the way) and this discussion will not matter. But the next tank will have an internal or drilled overflow... as it’s way more convenient.

Welcome to the club by the way!

Sent from my iPhone using MASC mobile app

JuanGutz

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Welcome to the club!
I agree with all the above, drilling the tank will be a much safer option and upgrading your valves will save you a huge headache down the road!

TheRealChrisBrown

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio