When to start dosing?

JodiI

Administrator
Staff member
M.A.S.C Club Member
M.A.S.C. B.O.D.
B.O.D. Member-at-Large
So I've googled and haven't been able to come up with an easy answer.

29g biocube with mostly softies, but also some LPS (Duncan, hammer) and some montis (cap and encrusting). I'm new to SPS, all three of these were given to me. I have no immediate plans of adding any more SPS. I've never had any trouble with LPS and generally prefer the movement.

The tank has been doing very well recently, with lots of growth in everything. Then I noticed that the purple coralline all had white rings around the edges like it was receding. But all the corals were growing really well. So I tested my params.

Mag 1260
Alk 7.4
Calcium 350

Everything else was tip top shape.

I see now that the calcium is low. Apparently these montis are soaking that up. My question is this - it's a small tank and I'm trying to keep it simple. I'm doing 4-5ish gallon water changes in Saturday's, but that's not keeping the calcium in line. At what point do I start dosing? I'm not going to add a reactor or anything since it's a small tank and it seems like overkill.

Teach me your (simplest) ways, sage SPS reefers. Google is full of ideas, but I'm unsure of the best way to proceed.

TheRealChrisBrown

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio
Simplest way would be to manually dose additives. Places like BRS have online calculators. I happen to like this one, once I figured out where it was asking me to input my total water volume :crazytown:: http://reef.diesyst.com/chemcalc/chemcalc.html I like that one because it has a wide range of products for each element.

For example you have 29 gallons of water and your calcium is 350. Say you wanted to raise it to 400 and you have ESV's B-Ionic supplement. It tells you 91 mL would raise your calcium to 400. It also gives you a warning to dose that amount over a few days, good advice. Slow changes are better, I have found.

SynDen

Administrator