New To This...

Diddle822

Cleaner Shrimp
M.A.S.C Club Member
So as most people that post in this section I'm new to this. But looking for any useful information. I bought a book at keeping a reef aquarium and am trying to learn all I can. Have one buddy that has been helping me a great deal that led me to this site. I would also like to add I'd like to post in the selling or buying sections and can offer trade. I'm a licensed journeyman electrician and own my own company so can trade services for coral, fish, equipment etc.

I'm getting a 180gallon tank
with:
reef breeder led lights
reef octopus protein skimmer
a custom sump
and coralia powerbeats

from what I understand so far (that's not much) this sounds like a good setup. I will also be getting a lot of live rock etc. What else do I need to make sure I get ? What have you guys learned from your years of experience? I went with a larger tank because it's less likely to have things go bad vs like a nano cube from what I've read.

thank you in advance.

BrianH

Butterfly Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio
Welcome! I'd add an RODI unit to your startup list. This will clean all of the dissolved junk out of your tap water that is harmful to fish and corals as well as lowers algae growth.

zombie

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
I haven't heard great things about the reefbreeder lights. I suggest doing more research into those and try to stick with AI or ecotech if you can afford it.

An auto top off is ESSENTIAL so plan to add one to your tank.

Korelia pumps are not good IMO especially if you ever intend to do attempt sps corals at some point. I would recommend something like vortechs if you can afford them, tunze are also a good choice, and even jebaos are better than korelias if you're strapped on cash (though I'm not a fan of the company).