Year-Long Tank Build & Grow Contest and Education

jda123

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
This is my first attempt at some parameters and guidelines... please provide good input a final set can be honed in upon.

Goal
To document, educate and show new and seasoned alike different techniques and methods of successful reefing. This is about 25% to show off what you can do and about 75% to show results over time.

Overview
Set up a fresh/new tank and grow it for one year. Document with a build thread. Spending cap at $1000 on the year - this is about $80 a month. Best tanks/owners to host meeting and/or give 30 minute talk about their method at ReefEd, or the like.

Commitment
  • New forum to be set up just for this contest
  • $100 buy in - paid out for three places in a 60, 30 and 10% fashion - this will keep folks interested
  • MASC BOD can figure out how to judge a pay out
  • Must set up a build thread and update it at least every two weeks with progress
  • Must keep track of spending
  • First post of each thread should have a current FTS and an inventory of the spending for a quick view
  • Must answer questions about your tank, methods and setup

Guidelines
  • Cap at 55 or 60g tank - a 60G 2x2x2 cube or a 55G would work. Whatever size is fine.
  • Have to use a reasonable price for items that you use, live and dry - used is fine, but be reasonable with the fair market value... I could find a used Red Dragon Skimmer and say that it is worth $50 or fill my tank with bounce mushrooms and say that they were gifted for $5 each, but remember that this is to help out new folks and they won't be able to do this.
  • No donations - this is not about who has the best friends, it is about somebody honestly doing something that is repeatable. If you get any DBTC or other free stuff, it better be like green palys, or the like.